Home User CP Browse Members Calendar Register Today!  
Get New posts Faq / Help? Community Menu

Go Back   Hookah Pro - Hookah Forum > Hookah Stuff > Hookah Discussion

Hookah Discussion General discussion related to hookah ...

Bought a new hookah, how to clean?

Hookah Discussion

Reply Share

Old October 10th, 2011, 10:48 PM
adoboyo
Hookah Nut

Default Bought a new hookah, how to clean?

Hello,

I've been smoking off and on for a few years with friends, but I just ordered (Saturday) my first "good" pipe. I went with a Nammor and I'm excited for it to get here this week. The other pipe I had was a cheap $20 (yeah, I know haha) one that is already rusted which I don't plan on using anymore. Of course the rust is probably from it being cheap, but I'd like to know some good cleaning and maintenance practices before my new pipe arrives.

How frequently should I clean the stem, etc..? Exactly how? My major concern is rust. I'd like to avoid all if possible and keep it clean, rust and weird smell free! What's the best way to dry the stem also? I usually clean bowls with Dawn and water, but which is the best way to clean it to get rid of smell?

Any natural cleaning method tips would be greatly appreciated

Thanks!
Old October 10th, 2011, 11:04 PM
stronzo91
Hookah Nut

Default Re: Bought a new hookah, how to clean?

Clean your pipe after each use with baking soda and vinegar or lemon juice, then rince, same with your hose and bowls. I just wipe the outside of the pipe off and leave it apart to dry and I hang the hose to dry with the mouth piece off.
Old October 10th, 2011, 11:11 PM
Kwikwi
Hookah Guru

Use mild soap/cold water/brush to clean the vase, baking soda/hot water/stem brush to clean the downstem(works great on any lingering odors), and vinegar/hot water for your hose(half a glass at a time, swishing it around then let it drain and dry.). The best you can do to dry these items is just let them drip dry. Avoid alcohol based solutions to clean the metal parts.