Home User CP Browse Members Calendar Register Today!  
Get New posts Faq / Help? Community Menu

Go Back   Hookah Pro - Hookah Forum > Hookah Stuff > Hookah Discussion

Hookah Discussion General discussion related to hookah ...

Border customs

Hookah Discussion

Reply Share
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 24th, 2009, 09:13 PM
BigE's Avatar
Status: Offline
Hookah Guru
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,345
Send a message via Skype™ to BigE
Default Border customs

If I had a package coming from the states, and it was held there(at customs), Should I get a notice? How does customs work?
Reply With Quote
Old December 24th, 2009, 10:04 PM
Bassem's Avatar
Status: Offline
**~ Supporting Vendor ~**
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Kansas
Posts: 359
Default Re: Border customs

Hey BigE-
They'll call you and ask you to come down and pick it up. FedEx doe's this automatically, USPS about 1 out of 8. If there's any due VAT (value added tax) or tariff due, you pay them there, and they give you your stuff. The amount charged is directly related to the amount brought in. If you're bringing in 10 or 20 kilo's, it adds up. Way up! A couple of small bottles, a couple of bucks.

The other thing to remember is that if your package was shipped USPS, USPS uses standard commercial flights to move their stuff. That's why it's so cheap. So, for example, the snow storm last week-end on the US east coast that grounded commerical flights for 24 hours plays absolute havoc with USPS deliveries, and can turn an 8 day delivery into a 12 to 15 day delivery. Fed-Ex has their own planes, and they recover hella' faster, but they charge for it.
Reply With Quote
Old December 24th, 2009, 11:04 PM
patelbadboy2006's Avatar
Status: Offline
Hookah Master
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,892
Send a message via MSN to patelbadboy2006 Send a message via Yahoo to patelbadboy2006
Default Re: Border customs

i dont think packages can get stopped leaving a country, unless it was illegal substances, only when entering a country, but i many be wrong
Reply With Quote
Old December 24th, 2009, 11:36 PM
WinBigLoseBig's Avatar
Status: Offline
Hookah Newbie
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 41
Default Re: Border customs

[FONT=Verdana]If the package is being held it should be on the Canadian side of the border. But at this time of the year it may just be stuck because of the holidays. Canada Customs won’t stop a package of tobacco; they just want you to pay tax on it. So if the tracking information says your package is still with customs it’s only because of the holidays and it should be released within the next two weeks when Canada Post is up and running again.[/FONT]
Reply With Quote
Reply Share
Share with your friends on facebook


border, customs, notice, package

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
customs yamalube Hookah Discussion 13 September 23rd, 2009 10:24 AM
Customs? mgaffar Hookah Discussion 20 October 10th, 2008 02:17 PM
APO addresses and customs? xsmokethisx General Yada-Yada 6 September 28th, 2008 11:25 AM
Mexican Military holds Border Agent at gunpoint. Lakemonster Serious Discussion 5 August 27th, 2008 09:38 AM
No Drugs that live on the Border Smiley Forum Rules 0 May 10th, 2007 09:58 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:58 AM.

Skin Design By vBSkinworks

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2007 - 2012, Hookah Pro Inc.