Home User CP Browse Members Calendar Register Today!  
Get New posts Faq / Help? Community Menu
   

Go Back   Hookah Pro - Hookah Forum > Hookah Stuff > Hookah Discussion

Hookah Discussion General discussion related to hookah ...

troubleshooting

Hookah Discussion

Reply Share
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 26th, 2010, 08:11 PM
hiei
Status: Offline
Hookah Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 16
Default troubleshooting

ok, now it seems that i do not know how to work a hookah lol. I've checked all my points and its airtight, but i cannot get anymore than whisps of smoke no matter what i do. Idk if its these coals or what but im barely getting anything.

Setup is a 29" KM cheops with a nammor hose water in the vase foil and 2 coco noro coals. any thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 26th, 2010, 08:13 PM
chewymatingcall's Avatar
chewymatingcall
Status: Offline
Hookah Pro
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 693
Default Re: troubleshooting

what brand of tobacco
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 26th, 2010, 08:14 PM
ashmgm2008
Status: Offline
Hookah Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 28
Default Re: troubleshooting

what kind of bowl are you using?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 26th, 2010, 08:15 PM
hiei
Status: Offline
Hookah Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 16
Default Re: troubleshooting

romman melon berry with a vortex bowl
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 26th, 2010, 08:17 PM
chewymatingcall's Avatar
chewymatingcall
Status: Offline
Hookah Pro
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 693
Default Re: troubleshooting

i haven't had experience with romman, it is a brand that used to be much more popular from what i have experienced (much more older videos reviewing it) it has fell by the wayside besides the people who pick up a hookah from h-s. if a longer-time member checks this thread they will probably be more likely to know
my 2c
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 26th, 2010, 08:19 PM
ashmgm2008
Status: Offline
Hookah Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 28
Default Re: troubleshooting

I always use three coconara coals with my vortex bowl. Maybe you're not getting heat. Or you can also try two coals and a wind cover. I'm sure you'll get bigger clouds from that.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 26th, 2010, 08:24 PM
matchbox's Avatar
matchbox
Status: Offline
Hookah Nut
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: ada, oklahoma
Posts: 327
Default Re: troubleshooting

i agree it may be a heat problem i would try what ashmgm said first
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 26th, 2010, 08:27 PM
hiei
Status: Offline
Hookah Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 16
Default Re: troubleshooting

I think its these coals cuz every time i use them they suck. But when we use instant lights i get much better heat. idk, anyone have any say about coco's not giving enough heat?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old May 26th, 2010, 08:34 PM
ashmgm2008
Status: Offline
Hookah Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 28
Default Re: troubleshooting

I would say that coco's generate more heat. The problem might be because they're smaller pieces. QL's are bigger and cover more space on the vortex bowl. While coco's are small are mostly on the outside rim of the bowl.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old May 26th, 2010, 08:36 PM
TampaJason913's Avatar
TampaJason913
Status: Offline
Hookah Nut
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 107
Default Re: troubleshooting

cocos give plenty of heat. did you heat them so theyre completely red? also, you cant just put them on and start smoking. they need to heat the shisha up for about 5 minutes.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old May 26th, 2010, 08:38 PM
Nick
Status: Offline
Deleted Per User Request
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: 904, Florida
Posts: 1,851
Default Re: troubleshooting

Quote:
Originally Posted by TampaJason913 View Post
cocos give plenty of heat. did you heat them so theyre completely red? also, you cant just put them on and start smoking. they need to heat the shisha up for about 5 minutes.
This, Kinda...

Sounds like you arent lighting the coals right. But you can always smoke pretty much right away with cocos since theres nothing to burn off really.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old May 26th, 2010, 08:40 PM
TampaJason913's Avatar
TampaJason913
Status: Offline
Hookah Nut
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 107
Default Re: troubleshooting

the issue isnt burning off anything. they have to heat the shisha. if you start taking pulls, your going to kill the length of your session, and youre not going to get good smoke right away anyways
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old May 26th, 2010, 08:43 PM
Nick
Status: Offline
Deleted Per User Request
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: 904, Florida
Posts: 1,851
Default Re: troubleshooting

Every bowl I smoke lasts roughly 1 hour and 45 minutes, and I smoke right when i put coals on.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old May 26th, 2010, 08:48 PM
hiei
Status: Offline
Hookah Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 16
Default Re: troubleshooting

Quote:
Originally Posted by TampaJason913 View Post
the issue isnt burning off anything. they have to heat the shisha. if you start taking pulls, your going to kill the length of your session, and youre not going to get good smoke right away anyways
sounds like what im doing, but i keep burning this stuff. idk what it is with this stuff but it burns super easy. my hookah freak didnt burn. oh well, i'll try again tomorrow. thanks for the help guys

-hiei
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old May 26th, 2010, 11:20 PM
Elco's Avatar
Elco
Status: Offline
Hookah Nut
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 314
Default Re: troubleshooting

also try looking at how you pack the bowl. loosly or tight. Don't try to put to much in it. And as the rest say.. heat management. Good luck.
__________________
Keep the smoke flowing
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old May 26th, 2010, 11:34 PM
PBRpunx14's Avatar
PBRpunx14
Status: Offline
Hookah Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Blacksburg, Va
Posts: 647
Default Re: troubleshooting

Quote:
Originally Posted by hiei View Post
... nammor hose water in the vase foil and 2 coco noro coals. any thoughts?
apparently it's time to sleep now. just spent almost a minute trying to make sense of "nammor hose water" and "vase foil..." internet reading comprehension just went blargh

aside from that, i've never had great luck with romman tobaccos. either the smoke is way too thin or its harsh, i'd just never get it quite right. if you don't own a windcover, you can always make a cheap one to try it out. there's plenty of threads on here about making them from tin cans, aluminum cans, foil... good luck getting your smoke right, and if all else fails, try a different brand
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old May 28th, 2010, 11:17 AM
hiei
Status: Offline
Hookah Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 16
Default Re: troubleshooting

So, i found the issue, now I need to know what I need to fix it. The valve on my hookah isn't sealing for some reason. if i take it off and cover the hole with my thumb it gets a billion times better.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old May 28th, 2010, 11:36 AM
hiei
Status: Offline
Hookah Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 16
Default Re: troubleshooting

nevermind, took the ball from my old tiny hookah and now it works. thanks for the help anyways guys.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old May 28th, 2010, 11:59 AM
sin2001
Status: Offline
Hookah Nut
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Layton, Utah
Posts: 129
Default Re: troubleshooting

I would make sure to check the valve. Oh nevermind Just saw the last post. Go pick up some plastic bbs the ones that go into an airsoft gun.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old May 28th, 2010, 01:17 PM
Drewzi's Avatar
Drewzi
Status: Offline
Hookah Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 758
Default Re: troubleshooting

Its weird that Romman is giving you crappy clouds because they are full of glycerin.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old May 28th, 2010, 01:22 PM
EvanW
Status: Offline
Hookah Nut
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 265
Default Re: troubleshooting

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drewzi View Post
Its weird that Romman is giving you crappy clouds because they are full of glycerin.
my romman mint gave decent clouds...
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old May 28th, 2010, 01:58 PM
ariberns's Avatar
ariberns
Status: Offline
Hookah Master

 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: nyc
Posts: 5,971
Default Re: troubleshooting

romman should have huge clouds

cook your tobacco with 3 coals for 5 minutes than take a coal off rotate the 2 remaining coals and take your first pull. Pull slowly but for a long time, you dont want to heat the tobacco too fast. If you slow cook it, it will be nice to you
__________________
Hookah Pro Legitimate hookah without the bias.
Reply With Quote
Reply Share
Share with your friends on facebook

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Troubleshooting? hiei Hookah Discussion 11 May 15th, 2010 03:06 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09 AM.

Skin Design By vBSkinworks



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2007 - 2012, Hookah Pro Inc.