Home User CP Browse Members Calendar Register Today!  
Get New posts Faq / Help? Community Menu
   

Go Back   Hookah Pro - Hookah Forum > Hookah Stuff > Hookah Discussion

Hookah Discussion General discussion related to hookah ...

smoke alarms

Hookah Discussion

Reply Share
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 6th, 2008, 04:51 PM
strawbizzledizz
Status: Offline
Hookah Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 29
Default smoke alarms

I know this might sound really dumb but I just want to check before I smoke in the house. Can hookah smoke set off a smoke alarm? I'm pretty sure it can't but is it possible?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 6th, 2008, 04:53 PM
Raid3n's Avatar
Raid3n
Status: Offline
Hookah Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Alamosa, CO
Posts: 1,196
Send a message via MSN to Raid3n
Default Re: smoke alarms

im not sure, personally. I have a smoke alarm linked to the security system right outside my room, and i have before with a fan in the window as a precaution, and then set it off making a double bacon cheese burger LOL.

i think it depends, just take the necessary steps to make sure it wont, just in case it could. but im sure it depends on heat for it to go off
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 6th, 2008, 04:57 PM
ThatTrevorGuy's Avatar
ThatTrevorGuy
Status: Offline
Hookah Nut
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: 623 AZ
Posts: 429
Send a message via AIM to ThatTrevorGuy
Default Re: smoke alarms

Yeah I'm not positive but I think raiden is right. Ever wonder why sprinkler systems go off when you hold a lighter up to them? And i don't know about yours but every time I throw out gnarly clouds they are super cold and so refreshing.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 6th, 2008, 05:35 PM
dakingkevin23's Avatar
dakingkevin23
Status: Offline
Hookah Guru
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 2,362
Send a message via AIM to dakingkevin23
Default Re: smoke alarms

I tried it, and nope. My smoke doesn't set off an alarm, and i blew it right at the alarm.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 6th, 2008, 05:37 PM
Scoop's Avatar
Scoop
Status: Offline
Hookah Guru
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: the City of Angels
Posts: 2,752
Default Re: smoke alarms

the alarms check for CO levels. so depending on your coals it will or wont, however if you dont use quicklights it shouldn't be a problem. i never had a problem
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 6th, 2008, 07:15 PM
CHRIS7891011's Avatar
CHRIS7891011
Status: Offline
Hookah Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 54
Default Re: smoke alarms

In my last apartment we put a plastic bag over the alarm and viola problem fixed. My new apartment though has those sprinkler systems... I'm wondering if the bag trick will work for those too or if it's just too dangerous to find out. :lol:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 6th, 2008, 07:21 PM
Sambooka's Avatar
Sambooka
Status: Offline
Sambooka Jr.


 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 13,856
Default Re: smoke alarms

There is another thread about this, if you do a search, but quickly I will tell you I have smoke alarms and have no problem, although I am not blowing smoke right into them!

But you should be ok, and there is no remaining smell, like cigarettes. After smoking hookah in my house it leaves a nice smell
__________________

http://www.hookahpro.com - Hookah Pro Community - Hookah Forum
~Favorite Hookah~ Khalil Mamoon Amer .. (she leans, so I call her Eileen)
~Favorite Setup~ Egyptian Hookah, Vortex Bowl, Natural Coals (Exotica or Coconara)
~Current Flavor Favorites~ Ayam Zaman 1001 Nights, Hookah Freak Spiced Apple Cider, Starbuzz White Peach
Nakhla Double Apple, Nakhla Earl Grey, Nakhla Sweet Melon, Nakhla Cinnamon, Nakhla Cardamom, Nakhla Fakhfakhina Mixed Fruit, Nakhla El Basha Grape
Al Fakher Mint, Al Fakher Orange, Al Fakher Cinnamon
HookahPro.com .. powered by Elites!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 6th, 2008, 07:23 PM
Raid3n's Avatar
Raid3n
Status: Offline
Hookah Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Alamosa, CO
Posts: 1,196
Send a message via MSN to Raid3n
Default Re: smoke alarms

not according to my parents it does lol. thats probably the main reason i dont smoke in the house, not the fire alarm
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old May 6th, 2008, 08:03 PM
Sport City's Avatar
Sport City
Status: Offline
Hookah Nut
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 363
Send a message via ICQ to Sport City
Default Re: smoke alarms

Mine has never been set off, but thats not to say it could. I remember a thread where someone said his coals that he was heating on the stove set it off. Crack a window or door and u should be fine.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old May 6th, 2008, 08:06 PM
Raid3n's Avatar
Raid3n
Status: Offline
Hookah Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Alamosa, CO
Posts: 1,196
Send a message via MSN to Raid3n
Default Re: smoke alarms

your sorta right sport, what happened was the co2 monitor went off, not the smoke alarm. which is another thing you should watch just in case too
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old May 6th, 2008, 08:09 PM
mattathayde's Avatar
mattathayde
Status: Offline
Hookah Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Richmond/Yorktown VA
Posts: 3,779
Default Re: smoke alarms

sprinklers should be getting set off by a little vial that breaks from heat so that part shouldnt be an issue.

i have a friend that would smoke hookah in her apartment all the time and no issues, she bagged her dorm smoke detector and didnt have issues either but you probably should leave it over the alarm
-matt
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old May 6th, 2008, 09:25 PM
sexyghost's Avatar
sexyghost
Status: Offline
Hookah Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Riverside, California
Posts: 1,065
Send a message via AIM to sexyghost Send a message via MSN to sexyghost
Default Re: smoke alarms

I'll have to try blowing smoke in mine. I don't even know if my smoke alarm works. I guess if my smoke don't set it off I can check the batteries while I'm up there haha
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old May 6th, 2008, 09:36 PM
JillyIsJustKidding
Status: Offline
Deleted Per User Request
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,342
Default Re: smoke alarms

I personally don't think it will because the smoke dissipates very quickly. Heh just to be save, take out the batteries when you smoke...Haha thats what I do
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old May 6th, 2008, 09:38 PM
abu ronin's Avatar
abu ronin
Status: Offline
Hookah Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mpls
Posts: 4,498
Send a message via Yahoo to abu ronin
Default Re: smoke alarms

c'mon jilly! be honest! you take the batteries out of your smoke alarm so your mom won't find out your smoking hookah!!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old May 6th, 2008, 09:54 PM
Raid3n's Avatar
Raid3n
Status: Offline
Hookah Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Alamosa, CO
Posts: 1,196
Send a message via MSN to Raid3n
Default Re: smoke alarms

LOL oh abu got you there :P
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old May 6th, 2008, 10:10 PM
JillyIsJustKidding
Status: Offline
Deleted Per User Request
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,342
Default Re: smoke alarms

Quote:
Originally Posted by abu ronin View Post
c'mon jilly! be honest! you take the batteries out of your smoke alarm so your mom won't find out your smoking hookah!!
Haha that and the fact I don't want the firefighters raiding my house! hahah

Its cuz my alarm system is like that and even if it is a false alarm, the fire truck will come driving down my street without question!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old May 7th, 2008, 01:47 AM
Scoop's Avatar
Scoop
Status: Offline
Hookah Guru
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: the City of Angels
Posts: 2,752
Default Re: smoke alarms

if i take the batteries out of my smoke detector it sets off a signal in the main controls and the manager comes to my apt 5 mins after i do it =/
however the smoke detector has never gone off
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old May 7th, 2008, 02:57 AM
mrMojoRisin's Avatar
mrMojoRisin
Status: Offline
Hookah Nut
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lancaster, CA
Posts: 402
Default Re: smoke alarms

It's never set mine off.

Come to think of it, I wonder if mine even work.
__________________
GIMP Power!

| 40" Temsah Caramana | [HOWTO] DIY Hookah Hose Hanger | Coffee Can Wind Cover |
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old May 7th, 2008, 03:48 AM
Juno
Status: Offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Anaheim
Posts: 1,140
Send a message via AIM to Juno
Default Re: smoke alarms

My house is a death trap.

There is no point in having smoke alarms, so I smoke away while the Death Clock ticks on...
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old May 7th, 2008, 05:22 PM
kruset's Avatar
kruset
Status: Offline
Hookah Nut
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 226
Send a message via Yahoo to kruset
Default Re: smoke alarms

it depends some actually do go off from smoke but some are just from heat so depends what kind you have
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old May 8th, 2008, 02:34 AM
ridah626's Avatar
ridah626
Status: Offline
Hookah Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Socal
Posts: 53
Default Re: smoke alarms

mine actually only went off when i tried to light the coals in the room. i think it just measures the co2 in the air not the smoke. i could be wrong tho
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old May 8th, 2008, 02:53 AM
Scoop's Avatar
Scoop
Status: Offline
Hookah Guru
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: the City of Angels
Posts: 2,752
Default Re: smoke alarms

Quote:
Originally Posted by ridah626 View Post
mine actually only went off when i tried to light the coals in the room. i think it just measures the co2 in the air not the smoke. i could be wrong tho
thats my understanding of how they work. just dont start coals in your room :P
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old May 8th, 2008, 06:58 AM
Mortis13's Avatar
Mortis13
Status: Offline
Hookah Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 52
Default Re: smoke alarms

There are smoke detectors that have dedicated CO2 detectors built in, since most smoke detectors can't detect changes in CO2.

Detectors usually require visible smoke particles to be set off, since they use a beam of light with a sensor, and when smoke enters it scatters the beam, and the sensor detects the change in the amount of light. That's why they require an additional CO2 detector, since CO2 isn't visible, and wont scatter the beam.

Well, that is what I've been told.

Last edited by Mortis13; May 8th, 2008 at 07:02 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old May 8th, 2008, 07:01 AM
Mortis13's Avatar
Mortis13
Status: Offline
Hookah Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 52
Default Re: smoke alarms

Some detectors also use a chamber that is filled by particles by a source of radiation, the particles conduct a current through the chamber. When smoke enters, it absorbs some of the particles, and the current is interrupted, setting off the alarm.

I hope that this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old May 8th, 2008, 09:25 AM
phatpride1's Avatar
phatpride1
Status: Offline
Hookah Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Gurnee, IL/UW- Stout
Posts: 876
Default Re: smoke alarms

It wont set it off since its not a hot smoke its cold. Smoke has to be so hot to set the alarm off thats why i can smoke in the house with nobody even knowing i am lol
Reply With Quote
Reply Share
Share with your friends on facebook

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:58 PM.

Skin Design By vBSkinworks



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2007 - 2012, Hookah Pro Inc.