Home User CP Browse Members Calendar Register Today!  
Get New posts Faq / Help? Community Menu
   

Go Back   Hookah Pro - Hookah Forum > Hookah Stuff > Hookah Discussion

Hookah Discussion General discussion related to hookah ...

Hot Plate?

Hookah Discussion

Reply Share
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 27th, 2008, 04:19 AM
mexican3790
Status: Offline
Hookah Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 89
Default Hot Plate?

well I've been using quik lites and lighting them with my torch lighter and i jst purchased some exoticas and wanted to know if i can use the burner from my stove and a hot plate to light the exoticas?? any help is appreciated..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old June 27th, 2008, 04:21 AM
patodrums's Avatar
patodrums
Status: Offline
Hookah Nut
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Mexico
Posts: 220
Default Re: Hot Plate?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mexican3790 View Post
well I've been using quik lites and lighting them with my torch lighter and i jst purchased some exoticas and wanted to know if i can use the burner from my stove and a hot plate to light the exoticas?? any help is appreciated..
You can actually put the exoticas straight in the fire and if it is electrical stove I think you can use a hot plate aswell I've never tried it so good luck!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old June 27th, 2008, 04:27 AM
mrMojoRisin's Avatar
mrMojoRisin
Status: Offline
Hookah Nut
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lancaster, CA
Posts: 402
Default Re: Hot Plate?

I have had a gas stove available to me everywhere I've used them, so I wouldn't know. But I would think it should be the same. If all else fails, try it out and let us know!
__________________
GIMP Power!

| 40" Temsah Caramana | [HOWTO] DIY Hookah Hose Hanger | Coffee Can Wind Cover |
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old June 27th, 2008, 04:29 AM
mexican3790
Status: Offline
Hookah Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 89
Default Re: Hot Plate?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrMojoRisin View Post
I have had a gas stove available to me everywhere I've used them, so I wouldn't know. But I would think it should be the same. If all else fails, try it out and let us know!
i do have a gas stove so just put the coals straight to the flame?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old June 27th, 2008, 04:36 AM
patodrums's Avatar
patodrums
Status: Offline
Hookah Nut
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Mexico
Posts: 220
Default Re: Hot Plate?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mexican3790 View Post
i do have a gas stove so just put the coals straight to the flame?
Yeah it will work, but leave them like a minute or two so they can be completly lit.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old June 27th, 2008, 04:37 AM
mrMojoRisin's Avatar
mrMojoRisin
Status: Offline
Hookah Nut
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lancaster, CA
Posts: 402
Default Re: Hot Plate?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mexican3790 View Post
i do have a gas stove so just put the coals straight to the flame?
Yeah, just heat 'em right up. Directly on the flame. And make sure they're red all the way around and heated all the way through. It can take a while, but it might taste nasty if the coals aren't done all the way.

Also, since they're kinda hard to break normally, if you put them in a carrier once they're done and just give them a little tap with your tongs, they'll break rather nicely.
__________________
GIMP Power!

| 40" Temsah Caramana | [HOWTO] DIY Hookah Hose Hanger | Coffee Can Wind Cover |
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old June 27th, 2008, 04:38 AM
mrMojoRisin's Avatar
mrMojoRisin
Status: Offline
Hookah Nut
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lancaster, CA
Posts: 402
Default Re: Hot Plate?

And turn them periodically while you're heating them.
__________________
GIMP Power!

| 40" Temsah Caramana | [HOWTO] DIY Hookah Hose Hanger | Coffee Can Wind Cover |
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old June 27th, 2008, 07:59 AM
larrypzlast's Avatar
larrypzlast
Status: Offline
Hookah Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alamogordo, New Mexico
Posts: 1,365
Send a message via MSN to larrypzlast
Default Re: Hot Plate?

You will be fine lighting these naturals coals on any stove, unless it is a ceramic or glass top one. Only if they are gas or exporsed heat coil stoves can you set the exotica on. If you use a hotplate or single coil burner you won't have any issues with those when heating your coals. Hope this helps!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old June 27th, 2008, 04:56 PM
mexican3790
Status: Offline
Hookah Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 89
Default Re: Hot Plate?

thanks guys!! i will try out the exoticas on the hot plate and report back
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old June 28th, 2008, 12:31 AM
JillyIsJustKidding
Status: Offline
Deleted Per User Request
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,342
Default Re: Hot Plate?

Gas stoves and hot plates work great either way!

I can't wait till I get mine this week ^_^ Easier for me so if I bring da hookah over my friend's house (we're not allowed to smoke inside or light coals inside either) I can just use that hot plate and not have to use that damn 20 year old blow torch she has! Lol

No joke...it takes like 10 mins just to light up some exoticas when a gas stove only takes 5. That's how old that blow torch is.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old June 28th, 2008, 12:34 AM
EpsilonX's Avatar
EpsilonX
Status: Offline
Hookah Nut
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 459
Default Re: Hot Plate?

hot plate should work just fine
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old June 28th, 2008, 12:34 AM
Rob416's Avatar
Rob416
Status: Offline
Hookah Guru
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: New York Long Island
Posts: 2,085
Send a message via AIM to Rob416
Default Re: Hot Plate?

listen up i use exoticas.. and i use a hot plate.. i dont got a coil stove anymore.. soo yeah a hot plate works fine.. but sometimes i take my lighter to my exoticas and cookm the corners, so they are started and cook faster on the hot plate.. well good luck
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old June 28th, 2008, 01:19 AM
heilmikaal's Avatar
heilmikaal
Status: Offline
Hookah Nut
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: near San Diego
Posts: 120
Send a message via AIM to heilmikaal
Default Re: Hot Plate?

my hot plate didnt work with coconara but i dont know about exotica
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old June 28th, 2008, 02:14 AM
JillyIsJustKidding
Status: Offline
Deleted Per User Request
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,342
Default Re: Hot Plate?

Quote:
Originally Posted by heilmikaal View Post
my hot plate didnt work with coconara but i dont know about exotica
Was yours the one wit the black plate or single coil?

The black plates take a long time to heat up by itself and the coals. Single coils tend to heat up quicker
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old June 28th, 2008, 02:16 AM
heilmikaal's Avatar
heilmikaal
Status: Offline
Hookah Nut
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: near San Diego
Posts: 120
Send a message via AIM to heilmikaal
Default Re: Hot Plate?

yeah it was a black plate. i recently bought a coil one and it works perfectly.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old June 30th, 2008, 04:10 AM
Martello
Status: Offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 570
Send a message via AIM to Martello
Default Re: Hot Plate?

Buddy, can you put your instructional involving exoticas in this thread?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old September 14th, 2008, 04:10 AM
Th3DonDada
Status: Offline
Hookah Nut
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 130
Default Re: Hot Plate?

Ok so I've looked everywhere for single coil burners but wal-mart, target, lowe's, and the local grocery store do not carry them. But they only carry hotplates...so just to clarify things, do hot plates work for coconaras?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old September 14th, 2008, 06:29 AM
krampi's Avatar
krampi
Status: Offline
Hookah Pro
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Budapest - Hungary
Posts: 589
Send a message via MSN to krampi
Default Re: Hot Plate?

I couldn't buy a coil burner so i use a hot plate. I use Cocobrico coals, they are coconut coals too, like Coconara and it works for me. It takes a little bit more time, but it's fine, while they are cooked, i can prepare the other stuff. But coil burners are a way faster. The decision is yours, i would suggest to look up some other places, maybe u can get one.

Good luck!
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old September 14th, 2008, 01:26 PM
Rob416's Avatar
Rob416
Status: Offline
Hookah Guru
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: New York Long Island
Posts: 2,085
Send a message via AIM to Rob416
Default Re: Hot Plate?

the black hot plates work fine for exoticas i use it.. it just takes a little bit longer but works fine.. soo ya.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old September 15th, 2008, 09:35 AM
Kalkail's Avatar
Kalkail
Status: Offline
Hookah Nut
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 348
Default Re: Hot Plate?

I have a vintage hot plate and they lit up just fine on mine. By vintage I mean so old the plug has no ground and the cord is covered in the silky fabric stuff. The contraption is as reliable as the sun rising though!
Reply With Quote
Reply Share
Share with your friends on facebook

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
R.I.P. Plate Hookah Redneckwoman688 Hookah Discussion 24 April 30th, 2008 08:52 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38 PM.

Skin Design By vBSkinworks



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2007 - 2012, Hookah Pro Inc.