Home User CP Browse Members Calendar Register Today!  
Get New posts Faq / Help? Community Menu

Go Back   Hookah Pro - Hookah Forum > Hookah Stuff > Hookah Discussion

Hookah Discussion General discussion related to hookah ...

What is anise?

Hookah Discussion

Reply Share

Old November 25th, 2008, 08:17 AM
nmcgrawj
Hookah Nut

Default What is anise?

Im a rookie and im doing a bunch of researching and i see anise referred to often with apple/double apple shisha reviews. I've never heard of that and cant find much on google to help

Thanks
Old November 25th, 2008, 08:21 AM
ninemillimeter
Hookah Nut

Default Re: What is anise?

Anise is sweet and very aromatic. It is used to make the following confectioneries: Aniseed balls (Britain), Humbugs (Australia), Aniseed wheels (New Zealand), pizzelle (Italy), pfeffernusse (Germany), springerle (Baveria), and knotts (Norway). Aniseed is also used to make the Mexican drink "atole de anís" or champurrado which is similar to hot chocolate, the Turkish drink Raki (alcoholic beverage),the Greek Ouzo, the Italian Sambuca, the spirit absinthe, the favourite for Arabic Arak, some root beer such as Virgil's Root Beer in the United States and as a digestive after meals in India. It also is used to make the dough, when preparing the famous Peruvian dessert "Picarones." In Colombia, it is also used to add to the national drink aguardiente, in which, depending on the region, more or less anise gives the typical drink its distinctive flavor.

Its what gives black licorice its signature taste
Old November 25th, 2008, 08:23 AM
nmcgrawj
Hookah Nut

Ahhhh so would it be safe to say that if you dontl ike black licorice then you wont like the apple/double apple shisha that have this flavor?
Old November 25th, 2008, 08:33 AM
CPill
Hookah Pro

Send a message via Yahoo to CPill

lol PROBABLY a good assumption

(the double apple, af golden bahrainin apple tastes VERY heavily like black licorice... lol very very strong in my opinion)