Home User CP Browse Members Calendar Register Today!  
Get New posts Faq / Help? Community Menu
   

Go Back   Hookah Pro - Hookah Forum > Hookah Stuff > Hookah Discussion

Hookah Discussion General discussion related to hookah ...

would it make sense to use a phunnel?

Hookah Discussion

Reply Share
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 5th, 2009, 06:57 PM
Full_ron
Status: Offline
Hookah Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 76
Default would it make sense to use a phunnel?

So I've been thinking about getting some nakhla and the only bowls I have is a phunnel and a the shitty mya bowls that come with the small hookahs. Would it make sense to use a phunnel on a drier tabacco like nakhla?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old February 5th, 2009, 06:58 PM
MrBungle's Avatar
MrBungle
Status: Offline
AFNSBFLAVOUR
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 5,410
Default Re: would it make sense to use a phunnel?

I often use a funnel bowl for nakhla but lately i've been using just a regular egyptian. Really just depends on how long you wanna smoke for.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old February 5th, 2009, 07:06 PM
guesswhoy0's Avatar
guesswhoy0
Status: Offline
Hookah Pro
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Sunny California
Posts: 573
Send a message via AIM to guesswhoy0
Default Re: would it make sense to use a phunnel?

phunnels and vortex bowls are made for really wet shishas so that the syrup doesnt drip down into your stem. for dryer shishas i use my normal egyptian bowl mainly.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old February 5th, 2009, 07:31 PM
ZenSilk's Avatar
ZenSilk
Status: Offline
Hookah Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 5,605
Default Re: would it make sense to use a phunnel?

Yeah it works well.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old February 5th, 2009, 07:33 PM
bradedup's Avatar
bradedup
Status: Offline
Hookah Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 3,258
Default Re: would it make sense to use a phunnel?

I do it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old February 5th, 2009, 07:37 PM
1lowtoy's Avatar
1lowtoy
Status: Offline
Hookah Nut
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: fort waste indiana
Posts: 350
Send a message via AIM to 1lowtoy Send a message via Yahoo to 1lowtoy
Default Re: would it make sense to use a phunnel?

I use my funnel for every thing and i mean everything not that its better but the only other bowl i have is a monster or a vortes that has the dam holes in the bottem for some dam reason. I have proably the smallest tangiers phunnel ive ever seen. I have some nakhla cappuccino witch is supper dry and works well for me. Also nakhla DA lasts for ever in the phunnel so i guess its a mater of how long you wanna smoke more than anything but some of the traditionalist will say egyptain all the way but ide suggest trying it and see if you like it that way or the other. Unless you only have one of thoes monster phunnels that only would be good for like 12 people chain smoking then i would forget it. Just my 2 cents.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old February 5th, 2009, 07:45 PM
Full_ron
Status: Offline
Hookah Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 76
Default Re: would it make sense to use a phunnel?

Cool so I can use the phunnel. Now in terms of amount of tabaco since the phunnel does hold a lot should I put a foil scalli mod in? Also should nakhla be packed differently? Sorry for all the dumb questions and thnx for all the great answers.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old February 5th, 2009, 07:50 PM
photolinger's Avatar
photolinger
Status: Offline
Arabian Sensation

 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 5,364
Send a message via AIM to photolinger Send a message via MSN to photolinger Send a message via Yahoo to photolinger Send a message via Skype™ to photolinger
Default Re: would it make sense to use a phunnel?

you can do whatever you want with it, nakhla will smoke on anything.

however, its easier to just use a clay bowl.

you can do vortex phunnel scalli w/e but its packed the same each time.
__________________

"blu mist rulz dawg an that stuff ain't like it an if youz don't agree you bez a shithead yo" - Hajo Flettner
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old February 5th, 2009, 08:13 PM
esisomsun's Avatar
esisomsun
Status: Offline
Hookah Pro
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bedford, TX
Posts: 968
Default Re: would it make sense to use a phunnel?

i have no problem w/ nakhla in my phunnel, except i can't finish a whole bowl. i end up w/ like 1/3 of it still wet

Last edited by esisomsun; February 5th, 2009 at 08:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old February 5th, 2009, 08:20 PM
Kwikwi's Avatar
Kwikwi
Status: Offline
Hookah Guru
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,180
Default Re: would it make sense to use a phunnel?

I Use a phunnel or Vortex for anything and everything. But then I like to smoke for two to three sets of coals.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old February 5th, 2009, 08:34 PM
jayrunner89's Avatar
jayrunner89
Status: Offline
Hookah Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ashtabula, OH
Posts: 1,206
Send a message via AIM to jayrunner89
Default Re: would it make sense to use a phunnel?

i use my phunnel for nothing except as a paper weight
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old February 5th, 2009, 09:09 PM
dragonman586's Avatar
dragonman586
Status: Offline
Hookah Pro
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 482
Default Re: would it make sense to use a phunnel?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jayrunner89 View Post
i use my phunnel for nothing except as a paper weight
Can I have it then? I will send you the shipping.

And as for the original topic.....smoking out of the phunnel will give you a nice long session. I use the mya bowls that came with my pipe for quick sessions.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old February 5th, 2009, 10:57 PM
Rob416's Avatar
Rob416
Status: Offline
Hookah Guru
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: New York Long Island
Posts: 2,085
Send a message via AIM to Rob416
Default Re: would it make sense to use a phunnel?

ya its fine like every1 said.. just if your going to pack it be prepared to smoke for a while or waste some tobacco if you pack a little too much
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old February 5th, 2009, 11:55 PM
mattathayde's Avatar
mattathayde
Status: Offline
Hookah Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Richmond/Yorktown VA
Posts: 3,779
Default Re: would it make sense to use a phunnel?

it works fine, takes more shisha but works fine. you can get like an hour 30 out of a phunnel bowl but that is like 1.5 sets of coals so i just trash the bowl after one round fo coals.

john from ******* hookah has been trying packing nakhla tightly like tangiers and seems to have good luck but i have just been fluff packing it with space. honestly i think it smokes better out of the phunnel (and im not a huge phunnel guy)

-matt
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old February 6th, 2009, 12:01 AM
Full_ron
Status: Offline
Hookah Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 76
Default Re: would it make sense to use a phunnel?

Yea I saw johns video but I'm a little scared of that packing method. It seems counter intuitive to have the foil touch the tabaco for me. But it seems to work which makes me wanna try it. Anyway what flavor recomendations do people have?
Reply With Quote
Reply Share
Share with your friends on facebook

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to Make Your Own Mu'essel Hajo Flettner Homemade Hookah Stuff 71 February 1st, 2014 01:33 AM
If you could make your own flavor Lekyrr Hookah Discussion 35 July 8th, 2010 03:49 PM
help me make my mya decision ! Jinzx Hookah Discussion 6 December 28th, 2008 03:03 PM
make sure you wash your hookah very well... yeags777 Hookah Discussion 13 June 26th, 2008 12:29 PM
Cant make up my mind wishingnote Hookah Discussion 18 April 3rd, 2008 03:42 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04 PM.

Skin Design By vBSkinworks



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2007 - 2012, Hookah Pro Inc.