Home User CP Browse Members Calendar Register Today!  
Get New posts Faq / Help? Community Menu
   

Go Back   Hookah Pro - Hookah Forum > Hookah Stuff > Hookah Discussion

Hookah Discussion General discussion related to hookah ...

using gas stove to light natural coals?

Hookah Discussion

Reply Share
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 13th, 2009, 07:41 PM
guesswhoy0's Avatar
guesswhoy0
Status: Offline
Hookah Pro
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Sunny California
Posts: 573
Send a message via AIM to guesswhoy0
Default using gas stove to light natural coals?

so ive recently purchased some CH natural lite coals, the non QL of course. the problem that im running into is that its only lighting the corner in which its contacting the flame so i have to rotate the coals for each corner. do any of you guys have a gas stove have this issue? any pointers to light these would be great because i dont want to use my QL coals so fast
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old February 13th, 2009, 07:45 PM
Ninorey123's Avatar
Ninorey123
Status: Offline
Hookah Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: San Diego, Ca
Posts: 665
Send a message via AIM to Ninorey123
Default Re: using gas stove to light natural coals?

eh fouh! i just grabbed the single coil burner from Walgreens on Balboa. i cant imagine lighting nats on a fire lol.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old February 13th, 2009, 07:49 PM
guesswhoy0's Avatar
guesswhoy0
Status: Offline
Hookah Pro
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Sunny California
Posts: 573
Send a message via AIM to guesswhoy0
Default Re: using gas stove to light natural coals?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ninorey123 View Post
eh fouh! i just grabbed the single coil burner from Walgreens on Balboa. i cant imagine lighting nats on a fire lol.
putangina! you're no help. hahahaha! how many watts should i be getting? and whatcha gonna do with your red bull shisha if you still have it?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old February 13th, 2009, 08:32 PM
ZenSilk's Avatar
ZenSilk
Status: Offline
Hookah Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 5,605
Default Re: using gas stove to light natural coals?

yeah gas stoves suck for coals.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old February 13th, 2009, 09:02 PM
ChronicHookah
Status: Offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South OC
Posts: 3,291
Default Re: using gas stove to light natural coals?

i use the gas stove that's the side grill for my bbq, in addition i put the premium egyptian windcover over them so they kight very quickly and evenly (don't do this if you want the windcover to stay shiny it takes all of the chrome off and makes it purplish/ugly)
Anyways it works great for me and since it's far away enough I don't get any smell while they are light. When using them on a coild burner in my garage they really stink until fully lit,
John
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old February 13th, 2009, 10:16 PM
uglybiker's Avatar
uglybiker
Status: Online
Quantum Bubblenautics,PhD

 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Dread Pyramid of Itzilichlitlichlitzl
Posts: 7,366
Default Re: using gas stove to light natural coals?

I have a Coleman single burner gas stove. It's all I use for lighting nats.
Gas bottles only cost a couple of bucks at Wal Mart and they last me almost a month.
__________________
FroYo = Phatt Azzd Kaloudz Yo!

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old February 14th, 2009, 01:06 AM
Full_ron
Status: Offline
Hookah Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 76
Default Re: using gas stove to light natural coals?

Quote:
Originally Posted by guesswhoy0 View Post
putangina! you're no help. hahahaha! how many watts should i be getting? and whatcha gonna do with your red bull shisha if you still have it?
Tangina indeed! Yea gas stove sucks for natural coals. It takes atleast 10-15 mins to light.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old February 14th, 2009, 02:28 AM
Ninorey123's Avatar
Ninorey123
Status: Offline
Hookah Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: San Diego, Ca
Posts: 665
Send a message via AIM to Ninorey123
Default Re: using gas stove to light natural coals?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Full_ron View Post
Tangina indeed!
LOL Tangina indeed. at the adivce of 9mm i gave it a few more tries and i can taste it... it just isn't too strong so im not sure if im going to keep it as a Just IN Case I Run Out Of Shit Smoke or what, cuz im a broke ass mutha and i HATE throwing shit i paid for lol
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old February 14th, 2009, 03:39 AM
chadtizzle's Avatar
chadtizzle
Status: Offline
Hookah Guru
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 2,163
Send a message via Skype™ to chadtizzle
Default Re: using gas stove to light natural coals?

EVERYONE! THE WALGREENS SINGLE COIL BURNER IS NOW ON SALE FOR $6.99! (9.99 -3.00 online rebate) i just bought one and it's perfect. dude, it's less than a box of coals. just shell out the money.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old February 14th, 2009, 03:43 AM
h0lic's Avatar
h0lic
Status: Offline
Hookah Pro
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Huntsville,TX @ SHSU
Posts: 787
Send a message via MSN to h0lic Send a message via Yahoo to h0lic
Default Re: using gas stove to light natural coals?

tangina! i like that. yeah just throw a windcover over it while you're lighting it.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old February 14th, 2009, 08:14 AM
patelbadboy2006's Avatar
patelbadboy2006
Status: Offline
Hookah Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,893
Send a message via MSN to patelbadboy2006 Send a message via Yahoo to patelbadboy2006
Default Re: using gas stove to light natural coals?

I've bee using a gas stove since i switched to naturals, just make a wind cover from foil the one time, and the process quickens up
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old February 14th, 2009, 09:24 AM
uglybiker's Avatar
uglybiker
Status: Online
Quantum Bubblenautics,PhD

 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Dread Pyramid of Itzilichlitlichlitzl
Posts: 7,366
Default Re: using gas stove to light natural coals?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Full_ron View Post
Tangina indeed! Yea gas stove sucks for natural coals. It takes atleast 10-15 mins to light.
Then you have one crappy gas stove. Mine takes about five minutes in the low setting.
__________________
FroYo = Phatt Azzd Kaloudz Yo!

Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old February 14th, 2009, 04:00 PM
wonderland's Avatar
wonderland
Status: Offline
Hookah Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Austintown, Ohio
Posts: 1,009
Send a message via AIM to wonderland
Default Re: using gas stove to light natural coals?

I made a metal basket out of heavy gauge wire fence... I should take a damn picture... but I put on my gas stove then i just fill my basket of coals but ya I like electric coil a lot better!
Reply With Quote
Reply Share
Share with your friends on facebook

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to light natural coals w/o burner zoomjoo Hookah Discussion 40 October 10th, 2010 05:41 PM
whats the best way to light natural coals? chadtizzle Hookah Discussion 34 January 12th, 2009 07:05 PM
Coconara's or Exoticas can i light them on a electonic stove patelbadboy2006 Hookah Discussion 25 October 1st, 2008 09:28 PM
Coals on gas stove shishasmoke1904 Hookah Discussion 9 July 24th, 2008 11:39 AM
Natural vs. Quick Light Coals deadfallkid Hookah Discussion 12 April 30th, 2008 11:36 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07 AM.

Skin Design By vBSkinworks



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2007 - 2012, Hookah Pro Inc.