Home User CP Browse Members Calendar Register Today!  
Get New posts Faq / Help? Community Menu
   

Go Back   Hookah Pro - Hookah Forum > Hookah Stuff > Hookah Discussion

Hookah Discussion General discussion related to hookah ...

should i use a bowl with a chimney?

Hookah Discussion

Reply Share
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 18th, 2009, 04:50 PM
blacklude
Status: Offline
Hookah Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: evansville IN
Posts: 3
Default should i use a bowl with a chimney?

i got my new bowl in today and it has a chimney/ wind cover on it. Iam wondering if i should still use 2 coal on or if with the cover on it or if 1 coal is enough to keep it going. its a 50g bowl
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old June 18th, 2009, 05:22 PM
Dakins's Avatar
Dakins
Status: Offline
Hookah Pro
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 722
Default Re: should i use a bowl with a chimney?

Is this it?

I suggest you start with more coals when you start the bowl, and when you feel it's getting too hot/harsh, take off one coal and give the bowl a minute to cool off. That's how I do it anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old June 18th, 2009, 05:35 PM
JimNibbles's Avatar
JimNibbles
Status: Offline
Hookah Nut
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: University of Kansas
Posts: 237
Default Re: should i use a bowl with a chimney?

50g bowl? That's huge. You'd need a ton of heat to keep that thing going regardless.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old June 18th, 2009, 05:37 PM
kalutika's Avatar
kalutika
Status: Offline
Mad Alchemist

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 11,250
Default Re: should i use a bowl with a chimney?

Not the worst bowl I have ever used but it still comes down to what works for you. As a side note it's not 50g capacity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old June 18th, 2009, 05:48 PM
Coldgr33ntea's Avatar
Coldgr33ntea
Status: Offline
Hookah Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 1,412
Default Re: should i use a bowl with a chimney?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kalutika View Post
Not the worst bowl I have ever used but it still comes down to what works for you. As a side note it's not 50g capacity.
whos knows, he could have gotten a large phunnel.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old June 18th, 2009, 06:28 PM
blacklude
Status: Offline
Hookah Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: evansville IN
Posts: 3
Default Re: should i use a bowl with a chimney?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakins View Post
Is this it?

I suggest you start with more coals when you start the bowl, and when you feel it's getting too hot/harsh, take off one coal and give the bowl a minute to cool off. That's how I do it anyway.
yea it looks like that. i will try what you said next time i use it
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old June 18th, 2009, 06:53 PM
kalutika's Avatar
kalutika
Status: Offline
Mad Alchemist

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 11,250
Default Re: should i use a bowl with a chimney?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coldgr33ntea View Post
whos knows, he could have gotten a large phunnel.
You find me a large funnel bowl with a wind cover attached and I will admit to being wrong. He bought the bowl commonly referred to as the "ultimate combo bowl". I have two of them. One in black and one in blue. They are normal sized modern ceramic bowls and aren't absolutely terrible. Frankly they do nothing a normal bowl and a wind cover can't do but the metal has a tendency to corrode and rust. Stopped using mine for that reason.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old June 18th, 2009, 07:39 PM
Genie's Avatar
Genie
Status: Offline
Hookah Nut
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 376
Default Re: should i use a bowl with a chimney?

My limited experience with this bowl so far is that one coal (I use Shishaco) split in half does the job if it's closed. I like it a lot.

I also discovered that the top will close if you turn the screen upside down. I like turning the screen upside down because because it gets the coals up a tiny bit higher off the shisha. If you do this, you'll have to rotate the tab on the screen away from the latch or it won't close. Well, mine wouldn't.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old June 18th, 2009, 08:09 PM
CypherEnigma's Avatar
CypherEnigma
Status: Offline
Hookah Pro
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Asheville,NC/Boston, MA
Posts: 581
Default Re: should i use a bowl with a chimney?

I have used that bowl but without the windcover and its nice if you want a relatively short session(30-45 min). It holds a good amount of tobacco, especially if I'm smoking with friends who aren't too crazy into it. Its all about heat management though since its rather shallow. Just play around with it and you'll get the hang of it. One Coconut coal split in half should do the trick.
Peace
__________________

36" Al Falkher Solid - 36" KM Copper Heart Two Hose - 22" Temsah Mini-Wheat(a.k.a. Golden Nugget)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old June 18th, 2009, 08:56 PM
mattathayde's Avatar
mattathayde
Status: Offline
Hookah Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Richmond/Yorktown VA
Posts: 3,779
Default Re: should i use a bowl with a chimney?

thats not 50 grams by a long shot, more like 10-15 tops. i ripped off the cover and rigging for it and use it as is. i use 3 CH nats on it, put a full size cover on for a few mins to get it started then pull it until the end (usually smoke nakhla)

-matt
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old June 19th, 2009, 02:43 AM
cbyerspace's Avatar
cbyerspace
Status: Offline
Hookah Nut
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: fort lauderdale, fl
Posts: 387
Default Re: should i use a bowl with a chimney?

well I have used this bowl... is very convinent for the same reason people pay around $100 for the liela hookah, I bought it after one too many acidents with the carpet in my apt... Two recomendations... Throw out the screen and use foil like a regular bowl, and one coal should be enough, with the cover shut it keeps the heat in... but keep in mind with the cover one your pulling in all the smoke that gets traped in there so if your shisha starts to burn just alittle it will seem completly finished... when this happens just open it just alittle and move your coal...
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old June 19th, 2009, 04:08 AM
XMiwakoX's Avatar
XMiwakoX
Status: Offline
Hookah Nut
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 100
Send a message via AIM to XMiwakoX Send a message via Yahoo to XMiwakoX
Default Re: should i use a bowl with a chimney?

I'd totally get that and get rid of the screen n use foil instead. Some lit up coals chipped (AF coconut coals ughhh i hate them) and landed on my mattress burning my pretty pink bed set . That seems like it would prevent many accidents.
Reply With Quote
Reply Share
Share with your friends on facebook

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Phunnel bowl or tower bowl? Mute Hookah Discussion 19 March 5th, 2013 01:46 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:34 AM.

Skin Design By vBSkinworks



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2007 - 2012, Hookah Pro Inc.